What am I Getting Myself Into?

People have suggested I write a blog, some have even suggested I write a book.  I’ve considered both on many occasions, since I find myself frequently composing stories in my mind (and sometimes on paper).  I’ve always stopped short of committing to either of these because I don’t have confidence in myself.  I wonder if anything I have to say will be interesting or helpful to anyone…outside of being cathartic for myself.  Yet I return to the possibility, simply because writing gives me joy.  It offers me a similar experience to that of scrapbooking–the chance to relive something significant to me and to preserve it for later enjoyment or pondering.


Of course, I’d be lying if I didn’t say all this was spurred on by my job.  I’m a freelance writer, in the loosest sense of the term.  Much of my time is spent in fixing poorly worded things or in rewording other people’s descriptions for my purposes.  Don’t get me wrong–I LOVE my job.  I make okay money (does anyone ever think they make “enough”?), I get to work from home, I can wiggle my hours around to fit my schedule (ok, the kids’ schedules), I work “with” a fabulous chick in Portland, and I get to seek fun family events to share with strangers around the country.  Since there’s no such thing as a stable job, it only makes sense to further my skill set.  In this case, having internet-published work that proves I (occasionally) know how to spell things might just make a difference in the next job someday.


Now, you may be wondering about the title of this blog.  You might even say it’s too vague or doesn’t demonstrate what I’ll be blogging about.  It’s just one of those phrases that has rung a chord with me for years now.  While it first came to me from yoga, it’s about more than just physical strength–it signifies stillness, faith, and passion.  So, the title is more about who I am than about my material.  I’ll likely write about a little bit of everything–some things that I share with my closest peeps and some things that I probably wouldn’t talk about in person.


My blog name comes from way back, in a way that even most people close to me don’t know.  My grandma used to call me this occasionally when I was young, because some kids made fun of my name.  She said I was her beautiful little Violet, and would grow to become as beautiful as any flower.  Not fully trusting in that last part, I chose a violet (well, that’s what it’s supposed to be) as my one and only tattoo.  I had big plans to grow that tattoo with other pieces of me and my life’s journey (including a cross, clover, and a windmill) but money doesn’t grow on trees and there are way better things to spend my money on now.  Regardless, that nickname has grown within me over the years…it’s just one of those quirky things that I can’t fully explain.  


Feel free to post comments or not, forward this on to friends or not…I just hope you get something from my rambling, and I thank you for giving my words a few of your precious minutes.  Now, in the words of a fantastic musician I know, “Let’s Kick this Thing!”


Violet

Leave a Reply

